durham challenge cup

Draw for the Durham Challenge Cup is made – and Consett are exempt to the first round

The draw for the opening round of the 2020-21 Durham County Challenge Cup has been made by Durham FA – but it doesn’t affect Consett.

Although three Northern League 1st Division clubs will be taking part in the Preliminary Round, we aren’t one of them.

Bishop Auckland, Ryhope CW and Hebburn Town have all got ties in the opening round of seven fixtures.

Nine more clubs have byes, and another 16 – including ourselves – are exempt until the 1st Round.

Consett have won the Durham Challenge Cup seven times, most recently in 2018, when Mark Eccles’ team beat Dunston 4-2.

Our previous win before that was in 2007 (read all about that here), and the one before that in 1969, when we became the first Wearside League club to lift the famous old trophy (recalled here).

The Preliminary Round ties, due to be played in the week preceding Saturday 24 October, are:
Bishop Auckland v Horden Community Welfare
Silksworth CW v Ryhope CW
Durham City v Easington Colliery
Washington v Hebburn Town
Crook Town v West Auckland Tunns
Birtley Town v Brandon United
Sunderland West End v Billingham Synthonia

Byes: Boldon CA, Chester-le-Street Town, Chester-le-Street United, Darlington Town, Durham United, Gateshead Rutherford, Jarrow, Ryton & Crawcrook Albion, Wolviston.

Exemptions: Billingham Town, Consett AFC, Darlington FC, Esh Winning, Gateshead FC, Hartlepool FC (Wearside League), Newton Aycliffe, Seaham Red Star, Shildon AFC, Spennymoor Town, Stockton Town, Sunderland AFC, Sunderland RCA, West Auckland Town, Whickham, Willington.

The 1st Round is due to take place in the week preceding Saturday 19 December.

Gary Welford