Consett will kick off 2021-22 with a home game at Belle View

Consett will begin the new season with a home game against Seaham Red Star on Saturday 31 July.

The Northern League today issued the fixtures for the 2021-22 season, which the Steelmen hope will end in promotion. Season tickets are on sale now.

The opening day is one of the most eagerly anticipated of the season, and Red Star will provide a stern test.

Terry Mitchell’s side then hit the road for their first away game, heading to Northallerton Town on Wednesday 4 August.

northallerton
Consett’s first away game is at Northallerton Town.

With fixtures coming thick and fast, they’ll take part in the Extra Preliminary Round of the FA Cup on Saturday 7 August.

Three of our first four league games are at home; newly-promoted West Allotment Celtic visit Belle View on Tuesday 10 August, followed by Newton Aycliffe on Saturday 14 August.

Consett face the other two promoted teams, Crook Town and Redcar Athletic, in successive away games on October 20 and 23, with return games in the second half of the season.

Our final away game is the long trip to Penrith on Saturday 2 April, with the season rounded off by home games, v Sunderland RCA and Ashington.

penrith
Consett’s last away game will be at Penrith on Saturday 2 April.

The full fixture schedule is listed on the Northern League website now, though of course it’s liable to change due to clubs’ cup progress and other postponements.

Key dates for the early rounds of the national cup competitions, whose draws will be released on Friday 9 July, are as follows:

FA Cup dates:

Extra Preliminary Round: Saturday 7 August

Preliminary Round: Saturday 21 August

1st Qualifying Round: Saturday 4 September

FA Vase dates:

1st Qualifying Round: Saturday 11 September

2nd Qualifying Round: Saturday 25 September

1st Round: Saturday 23 October

2nd Round: Saturday 20 November

3rd Round: Saturday 11 December

Gary Welford