cleethorpes

Consett make Northern Premier League bow at Cleethorpes and then host North Shields

Consett were today handed an away fixture at Cleethorpes Town on the opening day of their debut season in the Pitching In Northern Premier League.

The trip to Linden Club in Grimsby will be on Saturday 13 August – seven days after the Steelmen open their season with an FA Cup visit to Goole AFC.

It is a tough start, as the Owls finished third in Division One East last season, and it’s followed by a first NPL home game against more familiar opponents, North Shields, on Tuesday 16 August.

The return game against the club who pipped us to the Northern League title last season is at the Daren Persson Stadium on Saturday 7 January.

Other games of note include a trip to Dunston on Bank Holiday Monday, 29 August, with the Tynesiders visiting Belle View on Monday 2 January.

We face more ex-Northern League foes, Shildon, at Dean Street, on Tuesday 6 September – four days before playing them there in the FA Trophy! The return league game at Belle View is on Tuesday 7 February.

The games against Hebburn Town are on Saturday 22 October (home) and Saturday 4 March (away), while we play Stockton Town away on Boxing Day, 26 December, and at home on Easter Monday, 10 April.

There’s only one far-flung midweek awayday at the moment – to Pontefract Collieries in West Yorkshire on Tuesday 23 August – our second away game (though there may be more, depending on cup progress).

  • A full list of Consett’s fixtures for the 2022-23 season is available HERE.

Gary Welford